Let’s pray for him…

2 posts in a week! Can you believe it!?!?

Last night I went to speak at a prayer service in New Jersey with Father Michael and my fellow FVM/housemate Joe. The topic we were speaking about: Service. I know a thing or two about this topic so naturally I should have been comfortable talking about it (side note: this is the second time in less than a month that I’ve given this same speech).

To say I wasn’t nervous would be a lie. Although, I didn’t feel nervous until we got to the church…and then it hit me. I felt like I had ninjas in my stomach fighting and kicking their way out. All I could think about was that if I really messed it up 1) I would never have to see these people again and 2) they should be kind people–after all we are in church–so they shouldn’t be too full of judgment.

Then it happened…the moment of truth. Father Michael called me up and it was my turn to speak.

Deep breath in.

Let it out.

Here it goes.

As soon as I got up to the podium all my fears were gone. I wasn’t met with any scary faces or people telling me to shut-up. I didn’t even have to picture any of the little old church ladies in their underwear (by the way I think this would have been highly inappropriate of me).

It went great. I didn’t stumble over my words too much and I genuinely enjoyed sharing my thoughts and experiences with everyone. I guess all my worries were for nothing!

Are you bored yet?

The point of this entry isn’t to give you an exact play-by-play of my night but to share with you a beautiful story that I was told following this prayer service.

When we were all through talking a man came up to me to thank me for sharing my story and then he asked if he could tell me one. Of course I said yes.

He hinted at the fact that he was a recovering addict (who now has many sober years behind him) but during his initial treatment part of his program was to volunteer at a soup kitchen. It was his first week or so at the soup kitchen and he was serving a table full of people who seemed to know each other very well. As he was about to approach their table and say hello he noticed that the group of people was about to pray.

So naturally, he took a step back to allow them some privacy.

The man at the table who was leading the prayer noticed this volunteer behind him and turned back to his friends at the table and said, “today we aren’t going to pray for ourselves. Today, we are going to pray for him (he pointed to the volunteer/the man who I had the privilege of meeting last night).”

I was so captivated by the way this man shared his story and how he still gets choked up about it to this day. There is so much love and beauty in people who come from all walks of life and I felt truly blessed that I was able to hear this story last night.

Sometimes we find ourselves so wrapped up in our own drama–no matter how big or small it is–that we forget about the person next to us who has struggles and difficulties of their own.

So the next time you are out for a walk or at the store look at the people around you. Say a prayer for those who seem to need one (and one for those who seem to be fine) and have faith that someone around you is doing the exact same thing–except their prayer is for you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 18:22:18

    Keep up the faithful work, Kelly! God has great plans for you!

    Reply

  2. Sue Iekel-Johnson (FVM 1993-95)
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 01:13:06

    That is an excellent story! I’ve taught my children (currently ages 5 and 7) that whenever we hear a siren, we should stop and say a prayer for the “helpers and the ones they are going to help.” I love that they request this now, even when I forget.

    Thanks for the reminder!
    sueij

    Reply

Leave a Reply

